These are just a few of MANY COMPLAINTS and only on one of MANY vehicles! What is it going to take to MAKE IT RIGHT and FORCE GM, Stanadyne and AM General to FIX THIS HUGE PROBLEM? NHTSA, YOU HAVE MASSIVE COMPLAINTS AND KNOW THAT THERE IS AN ISSUE. IT IS ALL OVER THE INTERNET, DOES IT TAKE PEOPLE DYING, HAVE THEY? DOES IT TAKE INJURIES? HAVE THERE BEEN? SO SOMETHING NOW TO PREVENT MORE HARM! THIS IS BEING VERY WELL DOCUMENTED! I WILL BE GATHERING LOTS MORE COMPLAINTS AND PUTTING THEM IN ONE SECTION FOR EVERYONE TO READ!!!!!

RECALL NOW BEFORE SOMEONE DIES. TODAY IS Friday July 16, 2010 and it is NOTED that I personally have contacted Bruce York, With the NHTSA repeatedly, lodged a complaint and have been in repeat email contact with him to ensure that NOW THIS ISSUE WILL NOT BE OVERLOOKED!

FUEL SYSTEM, DIESEL

11/12/2004 - KING GEORGE, VA
NO WARNING FAILURE OF STANADYNE PN 12562836 (GM NUMBER) OR MFG # 34583. VEHICLE IS 2001 GMC VAN VI 1GKGG25F311183462. THE FUEL SOLENOID DRIVER (FSD) IS LOCATED ON THE INJECTOR PUMP AND IS USED TO DRIVE THE FUEL SYSTEM. ITS FAILURE IS CAUSE BY HEAT OR LACK OF COOLING OF THE TWO 500 WATT TRANSISTORS. FAILURE IS ABRUPT WITH OUT WARNING AND CAUSES LOSS OF VEHICLE CONTROL DUE TO STALLING. AFTER COOL DOWN VEHICLE CAN BE RESTARTED. FIRST FAILURE OCCURRED 5/22/2003 AT 39630 MILES AND WAS REPAIRED UNDER CLAIM NUMBER 1-105619528. THE SECOND FAILURE (OF THE REPLACED PART) OCCURRED AT 65779 MILES AND WAS NOTED IN REPAIR TICKET 1-273605803. THE UNIT WAS NOT REPAIRED BY GM BUT WAS REPLACED BY THE OWNER (ME). THE PART DID NOT FAIL AT DEALER WHO ONLY DROVE THE VEHICLE 8 MILES. STALLING OF VEHICLE CAUSES LOSS OF CONTROL SINCE THE DIESEL MOTOR DRIVES THE POWER STEERING AND BRAKES. VERY DANGEROUS TO DRIVE. PART FAILURE DOES NOT SET ANY COMPUTER CODES READABLE AT DTC11 CONNECTOR. BASED ON INTERNET INVESTIGATION USING FSD FAILURE AND GM IN THE GOOGLE SEARCH ENGINE, MANY REPAIR SOLUTIONS ARE RECOMMENDED. THIS IS A KNOWN PROBLEM SINCE GM ISSUED A WARRANTY EXTENSION, G00064D IN MAY 2003. ORIGINAL PART IS AVAILABLE. REPLACEMENT PART (THE SECOND FAILURE) IS AVAILABLE. *JB

Source: NHTSA Website

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE: DIESEL

1/6/2004 - VERNON, VT
WE HAVE A 1996 6.5 TURBO DIESEL GMC SUBURBAN. WE HAD SEVERE STALLING PROBLEMS. THE DEALER REPLACED THE FUEL PUMP AT THEIR COST AND INSTALLED AT OUR COST, NEW GLOW PLUGS, GLOW PLUG SENSOR, BATTERY, AND BATTERY CABLES SUSPECTED TO BE THE PROBLEM. IT CONTINUED TO STALL. WE RETURNED TO THE DEALER AND THEY REPLACED THE PUMP AGAIN AT THEIR COST, BUT WE HAD TO PAY TO DROP THE TANK TO CHECK FOR CONTAMINATION. THERE WAS A DETERIORATED SCREEN WE PAID TO REPLACE. IT STILL STALLED. ONLY THIS TIME IT STALLED WHEN I WAS GOING 50 MPH AND APPROACHING CURVES ALONG THE RIVER. I LOST ALL POWER STEERING AND BRAKES. ME AND MY FIVE YOUNG KIDS ALMOST ENDED UP IN THE RIVER. HAD IT BEEN NORMAL WINTER ROADS, WE WOULD HAVE. ALL ALONG WE'VE DONE RESEARCH AND HAD IT REDIAGNOSED BY A PROFESSIONAL DIESEL MECHANIC, SO WE KNEW TO TELL OUR DEALER (AUTOMALL IN BRATTLEBORO VERMONT) TO REPLACE THE PUMP MOUNTED DRIVER (PMD) SOMETIMES CALLED A FUEL SOLENOID DRIVER (FSD). AFTER PROBLEMS WHERE AUTOMALL TRIED TO RIP US OFF FOR A FAKE $100 DEDUCTIBLE, THEY WILL INSTALL IT AT NO CHARGE TOMORROW (1/7/04). WE HAVE DRIVEN JUST OVER 1000 MILES TOTAL. HOWEVER, THIS DOES NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. FROM ALL THE RESEARCH WE'VE DONE, WEVE DISCOVERED MANY PEOPLE HAVE REPORTED THE SAME DANGEROUS ACCOUNTS OF STALLING. SEVERAL REPORT HAVING ALMOST HAD SERIOUS ACCIDENTS LIKE I HAD TWO DAYS AGO. ACCORDING TO RESEARCH, PMD FAILURES ARE THE MOST COMMON PART TO FAIL ON GM 6.5 DIESELS. THE PMD OVERHEATS BECAUSE OF PLACEMENT NEAR THE ENGINE. THERE IS A SIMPLE, YET COSTLY FIX THAT CONSUMERS SHOULD NOT HAVE TO PAY TO BE SAFE. A PUMP DRIVER COOLER (PDC) CAN MOUNT ON THE FIREWALL (NOT THE ENGINE) TO MOVE THE PMD AWAY FROM THE HEAT. PLEASE INVESTIGATE AND ISSUE A RECALL TO INSTALL PDC'S ON THESE ENGINES SO WE CAN ONCE AGAIN BE SAFE IN OUR VEHICLES. MY FAMILY OF 7 CANT AFFORD ANOTHER STALL, ESPECIALLY DURING THESE WINTER MONTHS, AND NEW PDCS ALONE CANT GUARANTEE SAFETY. THANK YOU.*AK

Source: NHTSA Website

 

   

 

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

1/6/2004 - VERNON, VT
WE HAVE A 1996 6.5 TURBO DIESEL GMC SUBURBAN. WE HAD SEVERE STALLING PROBLEMS. THE DEALER REPLACED THE FUEL PUMP AT THEIR COST AND INSTALLED AT OUR COST, NEW GLOW PLUGS, GLOW PLUG SENSOR, BATTERY, AND BATTERY CABLES SUSPECTED TO BE THE PROBLEM. IT CONTINUED TO STALL. WE RETURNED TO THE DEALER AND THEY REPLACED THE PUMP AGAIN AT THEIR COST, BUT WE HAD TO PAY TO DROP THE TANK TO CHECK FOR CONTAMINATION. THERE WAS A DETERIORATED SCREEN WE PAID TO REPLACE. IT STILL STALLED. ONLY THIS TIME IT STALLED WHEN I WAS GOING 50 MPH AND APPROACHING CURVES ALONG THE RIVER. I LOST ALL POWER STEERING AND BRAKES. ME AND MY FIVE YOUNG KIDS ALMOST ENDED UP IN THE RIVER. HAD IT BEEN NORMAL WINTER ROADS, WE WOULD HAVE. ALL ALONG WE'VE DONE RESEARCH AND HAD IT REDIAGNOSED BY A PROFESSIONAL DIESEL MECHANIC, SO WE KNEW TO TELL OUR DEALER (AUTOMALL IN BRATTLEBORO VERMONT) TO REPLACE THE PUMP MOUNTED DRIVER (PMD) SOMETIMES CALLED A FUEL SOLENOID DRIVER (FSD). AFTER PROBLEMS WHERE AUTOMALL TRIED TO RIP US OFF FOR A FAKE $100 DEDUCTIBLE, THEY WILL INSTALL IT AT NO CHARGE TOMORROW (1/7/04). WE HAVE DRIVEN JUST OVER 1000 MILES TOTAL. HOWEVER, THIS DOES NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. FROM ALL THE RESEARCH WE'VE DONE, WEVE DISCOVERED MANY PEOPLE HAVE REPORTED THE SAME DANGEROUS ACCOUNTS OF STALLING. SEVERAL REPORT HAVING ALMOST HAD SERIOUS ACCIDENTS LIKE I HAD TWO DAYS AGO. ACCORDING TO RESEARCH, PMD FAILURES ARE THE MOST COMMON PART TO FAIL ON GM 6.5 DIESELS. THE PMD OVERHEATS BECAUSE OF PLACEMENT NEAR THE ENGINE. THERE IS A SIMPLE, YET COSTLY FIX THAT CONSUMERS SHOULD NOT HAVE TO PAY TO BE SAFE. A PUMP DRIVER COOLER (PDC) CAN MOUNT ON THE FIREWALL (NOT THE ENGINE) TO MOVE THE PMD AWAY FROM THE HEAT. PLEASE INVESTIGATE AND ISSUE A RECALL TO INSTALL PDC'S ON THESE ENGINES SO WE CAN ONCE AGAIN BE SAFE IN OUR VEHICLES. MY FAMILY OF 7 CANT AFFORD ANOTHER STALL, ESPECIALLY DURING THESE WINTER MONTHS, AND NEW PDCS ALONE CANT GUARANTEE SAFETY. THANK YOU.*AK

FUEL SYSTEM, DIESEL

11/12/2004 - KING GEORGE, VA
NO WARNING FAILURE OF STANADYNE PN 12562836 (GM NUMBER) OR MFG # 34583. VEHICLE IS 2001 GMC VAN VI 1GKGG25F311183462. THE FUEL SOLENOID DRIVER (FSD) IS LOCATED ON THE INJECTOR PUMP AND IS USED TO DRIVE THE FUEL SYSTEM. ITS FAILURE IS CAUSE BY HEAT OR LACK OF COOLING OF THE TWO 500 WATT TRANSISTORS. FAILURE IS ABRUPT WITH OUT WARNING AND CAUSES LOSS OF VEHICLE CONTROL DUE TO STALLING. AFTER COOL DOWN VEHICLE CAN BE RESTARTED. FIRST FAILURE OCCURRED 5/22/2003 AT 39630 MILES AND WAS REPAIRED UNDER CLAIM NUMBER 1-105619528. THE SECOND FAILURE (OF THE REPLACED PART) OCCURRED AT 65779 MILES AND WAS NOTED IN REPAIR TICKET 1-273605803. THE UNIT WAS NOT REPAIRED BY GM BUT WAS REPLACED BY THE OWNER (ME). THE PART DID NOT FAIL AT DEALER WHO ONLY DROVE THE VEHICLE 8 MILES. STALLING OF VEHICLE CAUSES LOSS OF CONTROL SINCE THE DIESEL MOTOR DRIVES THE POWER STEERING AND BRAKES. VERY DANGEROUS TO DRIVE. PART FAILURE DOES NOT SET ANY COMPUTER CODES READABLE AT DTC11 CONNECTOR. BASED ON INTERNET INVESTIGATION USING FSD FAILURE AND GM IN THE GOOGLE SEARCH ENGINE, MANY REPAIR SOLUTIONS ARE RECOMMENDED. THIS IS A KNOWN PROBLEM SINCE GM ISSUED A WARRANTY EXTENSION, G00064D IN MAY 2003. ORIGINAL PART IS AVAILABLE. REPLACEMENT PART (THE SECOND FAILURE) IS AVAILABLE. *JB

Source: NHTSA Website

         

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE: DIESEL

10/6/2004 - MUSKEGON, MI
I OWN A 1999 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN K1500 WITH A 6.5L TURBO DIESEL ENGINE. I RECENTLY WENT THROUGH NUMEROUS INSTANCES WHERE THE ENGINE SHUT OFF IMMEDIATELY AS IF THE IGNITION WERE SHUT OFF. SEVERAL INSTANCES WERE NOT LIFE THREATENING AS THEY OCCURRED IN PARKING LOTS OR NOT WHEN IN TRAFFIC. SEVERAL INSTANCES WERE MORE DRAMATIC. WHEN MERGING INTO CITY AND HIGHWAY TRAFFIC, I WAS SUDDENLY LEFT WITH NO STEERING OR BRAKES AS THE ENGINE HAD DIED. THIS IS A LARGE HEAVY VEHICLE AND DOES NOT RESPOND WELL WITHOUT POWER INPUT FROM THOSE COMPONENTS. LUCKILY NONE OF THE INSTANCES RESULTED IN A ACCIDENT. I NOW HAVE A NEWBORN SON AND ALWAYS HAVE A CONCERN WITH HIM IN THE VEHICLE THAT ANOTHER SHUT DOWN COULD OCCUR AT ANY POINT. THE VEHICLE WAS BROUGHT TO THE DEALER AND THE INJECTION PUMP WAS REPLACED. DOING RESEARCH ON THIS REVEALED COUNTLESS INCEDENTS OF SIMILAR OCCURANCES WITH VEHICLES HAVING THE SAME ELECTRONIC INJECTION PUMP. WHILE FIXING THE PROBLEM TEMPORARILY HAS HELPED, IT APPEARS AS IF ONLY A MATTER OF TIME UNTIL IT OCCURS AGAIN. HAD I BEEN AWARE OF THESE PERSISTANT PROBLEMS PRIOR TO PURCHASING THE VEHICLE, I LIKELY WOULD HAVE PURCHASED ANOTHER. AS IT IS NOW, I AM STUCK WITH THIS DANGEROUS ISSUE.*AK

Source: NHTSA Website

FUEL SYSTEM, DIESEL

11/26/2003 - SPARKS , NV
IT IS A WELL KNOWN FACT THAT THERE IS A DEFECT WITH THE FUEL INJECTION PUMP ON THE GM 6.5L DIESEL ENGINES. I HAVE HAD A NUMBER OF THESE PUMPS REPLACED BY GM AT THEIR COST. HOWEVER, THE PROBLEM IS NOT GETTING RESOLVED. THESE VEHICLES DIE INTERMITTENTLY. WHEN THEY DIE (STALL), YOU LOOSE YOUR ABILITY TO CONTROL YOUR VEHICLE WITH THE LOSS OF STEERING AND BRAKING (FOR THE MOST PART). THERE HAVE BEEN NUMEROUS TIMES WHEN I HAVE ALMOST BEEN INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT BECAUSE OF THIS ISSUE. IT IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS WHEN THESE VEHICLES DIE BECAUSE OF THE PUMP PROBLEM. I AM IN HOPES THAT THIS COMPLAINT COULD POSSIBLY TURN INTO SOME SORT OF INVESTIGATION WITHIN GM TO HAVE THEM FIX THE PROBLEM. THEY SEEM TO KEEP REPLACING MY BAD FUEL INJECTION PUMPS WITH MORE SOON-TO-BE BAD FUEL INJECTION PUMPS.... *LA

Source: NHTSA Website

FUEL SYSTEM, DIESEL: FUEL INJECTION SYSTEM

1/19/2000 - TOWACO, NJ
FUEL INJECTION PUMP MALFUNCTIONED, CAUSING LOSS OF POWER STEERING AND BRAKES WHICH NEARLY CAUSED A COLLISION. THE INJECTION PUMP COMPUTER HAS BEEN FAILING CONTINUOUSLY FOR 3 YEARS, GMC IS AWARE OF THE PROBLEM, AND IS ATTEMPTING TO REPAIR IT. *AK.ET.

FUEL SYSTEM, DIESEL: FUEL INJECTION SYSTEM

8/11/2003 - MISSION VIEJO, CA
CONSUMER STATES WHEN DRIVING VEHICLE STALLS. DEALER STATES FUEL INJECTOR IS CLOGGED. *AK

 FILED AS GASOLINE BUT DIESEL BELOW

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: FUEL INJECTION SYSTEM

11/28/2002 - WALPLE, MA
VEHICLE SHUTS OFF WHILE DRIVEING GM KNOWS OF PROBLEM AND HAS REPLACED INJECTION PUMP AND PUMP MOUNTED DRIVER 3 TIMES SO FAR GM SPECIAL POLICY C00064 FOR 11YRS OR 120000 MILES. THE SAME PROBLEMS STILL EXSIST I HAVE A 9 PASSENGER IN ORDER TO TAKE MY KIDS AND FRIENDS TO SPORTING EVENTS ON ONE SUCH OCCASTION. THE TRUCK SHUT OFF WITHOUT WARNING A TRACTOR TRAILER WAS BEHIND US THANK GOD HE WAS PAYING ATTENTION AND NO ONE WAS HURT. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY PROBLEM THAT IS NATION WIDE FOR 6.5 TURBO DIESEL OWNER. DT
 

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE: DIESEL

2/10/2007 - BOLTON LANDING, NY
ON THE GMC 6.5 THE PMD, OR PUMP MOUNTED DRIVER FAILS DUE TO HEAT FAILURE, ALSO FAILING FOR NO REASON IN 8 DEGREE TEMPERATURES. WHEN IT FAILS THERE ARE NO SIGNS, WARNINGS JUST STALLING THE POWER STEERING, POWER BRAKES GONE. NOW PUT YOURSELF ON A 2 MILE HILL OF AN INSANE DESCENT, AND YOURSELF BEHIND THE STEERING WHEEL WHAT WOULD YOU DO? THIS IS INSANITY THAT THE DEALERSHIP WILL ONLY HELP YOU IF THERE IS LESS THAN 100,000 MILES ON YOUR CAR, AND THEN ALL THEY DO IS REPLACE THE PUMP, WHEN THE PUMP ISN'T THE PROBLEM ITS THE PUMP MOUNTED DRIVER. I PERSONALLY HAVE SPOKEN TO AND BEEN TO THE MANUFACTURERS AND THEY REFUSE TO ADMIT THERE IS A PROBLEM, THIS IS THE MANUFACTURER! BUT I DON'T UNDERSTAND HOW AFTER 11 YEARS NOTHING HAS BEEN DONE ABOUT THIS PROBLEM, ONLY A RIP AND REPLACE, AND IF THERE'S TO MANY MILES TO BAD FOR YOU. I HAVE TRIED ALMOST EVERY AFTER MARKET SOLUTION OUT THERE AND THESE MANUFACTURERS TOO ARE BAFFLED ABOUT THIS SITUATION. SO WHY IF THERE IS NO PROBLEM ARE THERE A DOZEN BUSINESS MAKING MONEY OFF OF TRYING TO FIX THE MANUFACTURERS PROBLEM? IF THE MANUFACTURER DOESN'T HAVE TO TAKE THE BLAME THAN WHO DOES? THE FAMILY OF 7 THAT WROTE IN? WHEN THEY DIE IS SOMETHING GOING TO BE DONE , BECAUSE ITS NOT A MATTER OF IF, ITS A MATTER OF WHEN, AND I HOPE THAT DAY NEVER HAPPENS. BUT I HOPE THAT MORE THAN THE FAMILY HAS TROUBLE SLEEPING BECAUSE I FEEL BETTER FOR TRYING TO AVOID THIS CATASTROPHE. THANK YOU FOR YOU TIME. SINCERELY CONCERNED, JON LAMB

Source: NHTSA Website

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: FUEL INJECTION SYSTEM

11/22/2006 - MELROSE, FL
DT*: THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS ON THE HIGHWAY, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. AFTER STALLING, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT EASILY RESTARTED. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY A DEALER WHO DETERMINED THE FUEL INJECTOR PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. AFTER THE INITIAL REPLACEMENT, THE PROBLEM PERSISTED. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY A DEALER WHO DETERMINED THE FUEL PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AGAIN. THE MANUFACTURER WAS ALERTED. UPDATED 12/18/2006 - THE INJECTOR PUMP WHICH WAS REPLACED UNDER RECALL FAILED AGAIN. *NM THE CONSUMER ALSO WANTED TO RECALL FIXED, HOWEVER THE DEALER REFUSED TO HONOR THE RECALL. RECALL NUMBERS 96V057000 AND 03V159000. UPDATED 03/21/07. *JB

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/22/2006 - MELROSE, FL
DT*: THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS ON THE HIGHWAY, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. AFTER STALLING, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT EASILY RESTARTED. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY A DEALER WHO DETERMINED THE FUEL INJECTOR PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. AFTER THE INITIAL REPLACEMENT, THE PROBLEM PERSISTED. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY A DEALER WHO DETERMINED THE FUEL PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AGAIN. THE MANUFACTURER WAS ALERTED. UPDATED 12/18/2006 - THE INJECTOR PUMP WHICH WAS REPLACED UNDER RECALL FAILED AGAIN. *NM THE CONSUMER ALSO WANTED TO RECALL FIXED, HOWEVER THE DEALER REFUSED TO HONOR THE RECALL. RECALL NUMBERS 96V057000 AND 03V159000. UPDATED 03/21/07. *JB

FUEL SYSTEM, DIESEL

9/8/2004 - PINELLAS PARK, FL
OWN A 1999 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN 6.5 DIESEL ENGINE, W/145K MILES, SUV WAS RUNNING OK BUT THE LAST FEW MONTHS ENGINE STALLING AND STOP WITHOUT REASON, TOOK SUV TO A REPAIR CENTER, DIAGNOSE WITH FUEL INJECTION PUMP FAILURE, CHEVY DEALER EXPLAINED THIS IS A WELL KNOWN DEFECT, FUEL INJECTION PUMP HAS AN ELECTRONIC COMPONENT (PMD) LOCATED ON THE SIDE OF THE PUMP WHEN ENGINE GETS HOT SENT FAILURE SIGNAL TO THE MAIN COMPUTER. CONTACTED GM CUSTOMER SERVICE TO VERIFIED/UNDERSTAND THE ISSUE, ANSWERED THAT YES INDEED THEY AGREED ABOUT THE PROBLEM ALSO SAID THEY HAD "CAMPAIGN" NOT A RECALL TO FIX THE PROBLEM BUT THEY DIDN'T MAKE THIS ANNOUNCEMENT TO THE PUBLIC. I ASKED FOR HELP TO FIX THE PROBLEM WAS TOLD THAT I RUN OUT OF OPTIONS ONLY HONOR THIS PROBLEM FOR 10 YEARS OR 120K MILES? I WAS NOT AWARE AND NEVER RECEIVED A LETTER FROM GMC. THIS IS A POTENTIAL ACCIDENT WAITING TO HAPPEN WITH TERRIBLE CONSEQUENCES, IMAGINE IF THE ENGINE STOPS OR STALL GOING DOWN THE HILL IN ANY URBAN OR RURAL AREA; PASSING ANOTHER CAR IN A BUSY HIGHWAY AND STALLING OR JUST THE ENGINE QUIT RUNNING (FRONTAL CRASH!!); CROSSING A BUSY INTERSECTION WITH SCHOOL KIDS INSIDE AND NO POWER (HORRIBLE ACCIDENT WITH SERIOUS INJURIES OR PERHAPS CASUALTIES!!); TOWING A CAMPER OR BOAT ON A BUSY AND FAST HIGHWAY AND SUDDENLY STALL OR STOPPING IN FRONT OF A SEMI-TRAILER; CROSSING A RAIL ROAD AND STALLING IN THE MIDDLE WITH PEOPLE INSIDE A TRAIN COMING ITS WAY!!. THESE ARE A FEW CONSEQUENCES THIS FAILURE CAN CREATED, IMAGING A LAWYER JUMPING ON THIS ISSUE WITH A "LAWSUIT" AND TRYING TO BLAMING ON YOU GUYS!! WHILE THIS IS A FACTORY FAILURE AND POOR DESIGN. I HAD REPLACED THE "PUMP MODULE DRIVE" (PMD) AND AFTER SPENDING OVER $1000.00 STILL HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM. AT THE PRESENT TIME I AM NOT DRIVING THE SUBURBAN UNTIL I HEAR FROM YOUR AGENCY TO SEE THE RESULTS OF YOUR INVESTIGATION. HOPING YOU WILL TAKE CARE OF THIS MATTER IN A SERIOUS MANNER, I JUST WANT TO THANK YOU IN ADVANCE FOR YOUR HELP. GOD BLESS. *AK

Source: NHTSA Website

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

9/8/2004 - PINELLAS PARK, FL
OWN A 1999 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN 6.5 DIESEL ENGINE, W/145K MILES, SUV WAS RUNNING OK BUT THE LAST FEW MONTHS ENGINE STALLING AND STOP WITHOUT REASON, TOOK SUV TO A REPAIR CENTER, DIAGNOSE WITH FUEL INJECTION PUMP FAILURE, CHEVY DEALER EXPLAINED THIS IS A WELL KNOWN DEFECT, FUEL INJECTION PUMP HAS AN ELECTRONIC COMPONENT (PMD) LOCATED ON THE SIDE OF THE PUMP WHEN ENGINE GETS HOT SENT FAILURE SIGNAL TO THE MAIN COMPUTER. CONTACTED GM CUSTOMER SERVICE TO VERIFIED/UNDERSTAND THE ISSUE, ANSWERED THAT YES INDEED THEY AGREED ABOUT THE PROBLEM ALSO SAID THEY HAD "CAMPAIGN" NOT A RECALL TO FIX THE PROBLEM BUT THEY DIDN'T MAKE THIS ANNOUNCEMENT TO THE PUBLIC. I ASKED FOR HELP TO FIX THE PROBLEM WAS TOLD THAT I RUN OUT OF OPTIONS ONLY HONOR THIS PROBLEM FOR 10 YEARS OR 120K MILES? I WAS NOT AWARE AND NEVER RECEIVED A LETTER FROM GMC. THIS IS A POTENTIAL ACCIDENT WAITING TO HAPPEN WITH TERRIBLE CONSEQUENCES, IMAGINE IF THE ENGINE STOPS OR STALL GOING DOWN THE HILL IN ANY URBAN OR RURAL AREA; PASSING ANOTHER CAR IN A BUSY HIGHWAY AND STALLING OR JUST THE ENGINE QUIT RUNNING (FRONTAL CRASH!!); CROSSING A BUSY INTERSECTION WITH SCHOOL KIDS INSIDE AND NO POWER (HORRIBLE ACCIDENT WITH SERIOUS INJURIES OR PERHAPS CASUALTIES!!); TOWING A CAMPER OR BOAT ON A BUSY AND FAST HIGHWAY AND SUDDENLY STALL OR STOPPING IN FRONT OF A SEMI-TRAILER; CROSSING A RAIL ROAD AND STALLING IN THE MIDDLE WITH PEOPLE INSIDE A TRAIN COMING ITS WAY!!. THESE ARE A FEW CONSEQUENCES THIS FAILURE CAN CREATED, IMAGING A LAWYER JUMPING ON THIS ISSUE WITH A "LAWSUIT" AND TRYING TO BLAMING ON YOU GUYS!! WHILE THIS IS A FACTORY FAILURE AND POOR DESIGN. I HAD REPLACED THE "PUMP MODULE DRIVE" (PMD) AND AFTER SPENDING OVER $1000.00 STILL HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM. AT THE PRESENT TIME I AM NOT DRIVING THE SUBURBAN UNTIL I HEAR FROM YOUR AGENCY TO SEE THE RESULTS OF YOUR INVESTIGATION. HOPING YOU WILL TAKE CARE OF THIS MATTER IN A SERIOUS MANNER, I JUST WANT TO THANK YOU IN ADVANCE FOR YOUR HELP. GOD BLESS. *AK

Source: NHTSA Website

FUEL SYSTEM, DIESEL

1/14/2004 - WENTZVILLE , MO
FUEL INJECTOR PUMP ON 6.5L DIESEL HAS FAILED TWICE, FAILURE OF INJECTOR SYSTEM HAS CAUSED DAMAGE TO STARTER AND 7 OF 8 GLOW PLUGS. *AK

Source: NHTSA Website

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/14/2004 - WENTZVILLE, MO
REPEATED FAILURE OF DIESEL FUEL INJECTION SYSTEM HAS CAUSED DAMAGE TO STARTER AND 7 OF 8 GLOW PLUGS. *AK

Source: NHTSA Website

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE: DIESEL

11/24/2003 - WASHINGTON, DC
VEHICLE IS A 1999 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN K2500 WITH GM 6.5 LITER TURBO-DIESEL ENGINE. THE VEHICLE STALLED IN INTERSTATE TRAFFIC (I-270) MULTIPLE TIMES ON OCTOBER 21, 2003. I CALLED THE DEALER, AND WAS INFORMED THAT THE LIKELY CAUSE WAS THE ELECTRONIC FUEL INJECTION PUMP, WHICH GM HAS WARRANTED FOR 10 YEARS OR 120,000 MILES. THE DEALER THEREAFTER REPLACED THE INJECTION PUMP UNDER WARRANTY. WHILE I AM PLEASED THAT THE PART WAS REPLACED AT NO COST TO ME, I BELIEVE THAT THIS REPRESENTS AN UNACCEPTABLE DEFECT. GM IS OBVIOUSLY AWARE THAT THE PART IS DEFECTIVE, OR IT WOULD NOT HAVE AGREED TO REPLACE IT FOR FREE AFTER THE REST OF THE VEHICLE WARRANTY HAD EXPIRED. IN THIS CASE, THERE WAS NO HARM, BUT THESE ENGINE ARE OFTEN USED IN TRUCKS AND LARGE SUVS THAT ARE DESIGNED FOR TOWING AND HAULING. FOR EXAMPLE, WE PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE TO TOW A HORSE TRAILER THAT IS WEIGHS OVER 5000 LBS. WHEN THE VEHICLE STALLS, IT LOSES POWER STEERING AND BRAKING. THE POTENTIAL FOR DISASTER WHEN TOWING A LARGE TRAILER IS VERY HIGH, AND THE STALLING OCCURS WITHOUT WARNING. *LA

Source: NHTSA Website











gallery